Discovering More About ProWorld

How often do you have small world moments? Well, in preparation for my practice experience I have had a few. When Elanna Mariniello, Program Adviser for ProWorld, interviewed me over the phone from Mexico, she mentioned me she was from Berkeley. We commiserated about Telegraph Avenue and craving an Intermezzo salad.

Adam Saks, Director of Custom Programs, stopping to chat with me at the Non-Profit Career Fair

Another helpful coincidence occurred as I have been working on my website and blog – a director from ProWorld came to the Berkeley campus for the Non-Profit Career Fair the same week when I was intending to interview someone from the organization. Adam Saks, a Director of Custom Programs, is one of two ProWorld associates in the San Francisco office. I learned that all other ProWorld employees are stationed at the worksite in each country where ProWorld operates. Adam had been a ProWorld intern in Peru the summer before his senior year of college. After working as a journalist for a few years post-graduation, he opted for a change and applied to work for ProWorld in Peru. He spent a few years in working in the ProWorld Peru site, the Mexico site and then moved to the San Francisco office. I have noticed the trend, after talking with Elanna and Adam, that ProWorld employees have previously interned with ProWorld at one of their locations. I am interested to see if this is the case with most ProWorld associates.

Adam also told me about the ProWorld staff I will be working with in Ghana and I’m looking forward to meeting them. I will be skyping with the Ghana Country Director, Kirsty, this month!

Then I asked Adam for advice as I prepare for my internship. He told me to have a completely open mind and have no expectations. He admitted that it is easier said than done, but if I am open to any experience that may come my way, I will learn an incredible amount while working in Ghana.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Discovering More About ProWorld

  1. ubriquitous

    awesome post! i am also hoping to keep an open mind while in ghana this summer- i think that is sound advice. see you over there 🙂

Leave a comment